YT.I.I #2: Paper People 

​Welcome to the second edition of YouTube International Interviews. Today, we will be interviewing The Paper People. … From their Frozen Parody to a possible Dr Who Parody, these comedians know about delighting fans.

I will now hand you over to the Paper People, who will begin with a wonderful, eye catching introduction. 

Hello, it’s Paper People here! We hope you enjoy reading our interview answers (we are very interesting). Don’t forget to watch our latest video 

https://t.co/IzAZ8jgBAD do subscribe!


1) How did Paper People come to be? What inspired you to start?

Imogen: To be honest I can’t remember the start of Paper People. We’ve always come up with various parody ideas, Paper People happened when we stopped procrastinating and got on with it.

Francesca: Emily Curtis is impressively awesome and impressively terrifying, so when you mix those two qualities with Imogen’s insanity (not to mention her artistic temperament) and my ability to just go with it, we somehow ended up with a YouTube channel. To this day, I tend to just shrug and assume that all is well.

Emily: Both Imogen and I had tried to make YouTube channels before, but hit a bump in the road at the whole ‘making the videos’ aspect. I don’t really remember how it  happened, but I’m sure it had something to do with Francesca’s endless mind of creativity. One minute the three of us were discussing yet another of our grand assents to success, and the next I’m singing ‘Hallelujah’ in front of an IPad.

2) Whose idea was it to start Paper People?

All three of us wanted to do the YouTube thing but I think the parody videos idea came from Francesca, because she is the ultimate fan girl. She also came up with the name Paper People. Badically we were discussing song writing and one of us said, “Hey, we should make a YouTube channel.” And lo, it just sort of happened, really.

3) Did this experience had a positive or a negative impact on you?

Imogen: Positive definitely! Now we have something to show for our ideas, and of course its been great fun.

Francesca: I’d say it’s been a really positive experience, even if it’s mostly involved blackmailing friends to subscribe and filming in parks with dressing gowns and giant teddy bears. It’s fun (until it rains) and it stops us fossilising in our rooms (until we start editing – then we never see the light of day again).

Emily: Definitely positive, it’s given us a reason to keep getting together. Plus, who wouldn’t want to walk around town in a nightgown.

4) Ok, trivial question. Do you prefer individual or collaboration filming?

Imogen: I am WAY too unproductive on my own, collaboration for the win!

Francesca: I personally prefer collaborating because it curbs my natural instinct to procrastinate.

Emily: I suppose it’s always collaboration for us. Although we are going to use a bigger cast for our Dr Who parody soon, so we’ll see how it goes.

5) The biggest challenge you’ve ever faced?

Imogen: I’ve got to agree with Francesca on this one, I can never keep a straight face when we’re filming!

Francesca: Biggest challenge we’ve ever faced? Probably trying to shoot without laughing. Harder than it looks.

Emily: From a YouTube point of view, editing. Computers actually hate me and I think my Mac and the wifi box are plotting a rebellion.

6) Any favourite videos of your own?

Imogen: ‘On my own’ was just hilarious to film, we had to haul a massive teddy bear around Southampton! However compared to what we’ve got planned that’s positively tame.

Francesca: Ok, this is a little narcissistic, but “Let it Load” was my favourite to do because I directed it (and wrote the lyrics), which is always really fun, and I’m really proud of how well it turned out.

Emily: The Frozen parody ‘Let it Load’ staring ME! Some people say I’m self entered, but enough about them, back to me.

7) Inspiration for your channel?

Imogen: Definitely the fans of the shows we’re parodying, everyone is so creative with whatever they create, from fan art to fan fics, animations and everything in between. It really inspires me to keep improving the quality of our work.

Francesca: Inspiration for our channel…I’m going to have to go with The Hillywood Show for that one. I am a devotee of their videos and I’ve watched them all at least five times each. I learnt so much about filmmaking just by watching their “Behind the Scenes” vids, and they’re so lovely and talented that it’s honestly no surprise that I wanted to make something as good as theirs.

Emily: Our undying love for Dr Who, Supernatural, The Avengers, Welcome to Night Vale… We need to get out more.

8) Who are your favourite YouTubers?

We love the humour of communitychannel, and the creativity of youtubers such as thisbedottie and Izzy Inkpen just to name a few. As well as The Hillywood Show.

9) What can do see yourself doing in five years time?

Imogen: Missing important uni deadlines because I was binge watching re-runs of Dr Who (not much change there) …Ahem, uh I mean functioning as a responsible adult. Whatever it is I’ll be doing art though.

Francesca: I’m planning to study Film Production in university so I can one day become a film director (like my uncle!). Also, I write novels in my spare time, so hopefully I’ll end up a successful author one day 🙂

Emily: Watching to much TV and eating cake, I like to set goals I can achieve.

10) Is there any advice you would like to give for anyone who is starting a channel of their own?

Imogen: In the words of Shia Labeouf “Just do it!” Your camera quality may be bad and your editing worse but perfection is something that comes with practice so just do what you enjoy and most importantly – have fun!
Francesca: Advice for the budding YouTuber: 

– Don’t be upset if you start off slowly; people have to notice you first! Just be patient and the views will start flooding in.

– Be the best you can. Go the extra mile on editing, filming and lighting – they really do make such a difference.

– Work hard…but play hard too. YouTube isn’t the be all and end all of life itself. Try to have a backup hobby (like, I dunno, knitting or something).

– Have fun!

Emily: Find stupid friends (preferably two of them), borrow a nice camera, and pretend you’re funny and that you can sing. Who knows some sucker might actually believe you some day 😉
Well, that’s all for this month. A huge thank you to The Paper People for their fabulous interview – very entertaining to read. If you want to check out their channel, click here on the link above the page, which will take straight to the Frozen Parody. 😉😀

Author: Sez

My name is Sez. I am on the Autistic Spectrum; I was diagnosed when I was two years old. Being Autistic can be tricky; I easily jump into conclusions and miss important skills that are part of my social life. However, my "condition" hasn't stopped me from doing the things I love. I am currently studying Performing Arts at a Drama school in London. I'm a hard worker and a dreamer. Also, I love creative writing and writing lyrics. I'm a keen adventurer and would love to travel the world. I want to take this opportunity to thank you for reading my blog. I hope you enjoy actingmylife. :)

Leave a Reply

