How Can One Girl Transform from Geek to Model? Well, “Geek Girl” Has the Answer!

Book Title: Geek Girl: From Geek to Chic

Author: Holly Smale

Date of Publication: 2013

Genre: Children’s Fantasy

After reading A Monster Calls, I wanted my next book to be uplifting, funny and makes me smile. And no book has done that than Greek Girl.

What’s the story? Harriet Manners, an intelligent fifteen year old girl knows a lot of facts but her intelligence doesn’t go down to well with her peers at school. She’s bullied by the school’s popular girl, is ignored by her father, has an annoying stepmother (who is also a lawyer) and has her own geeky stalker. Her life changes however when her best friend, Nat forces Harriet to come on a school trip to a fashion week show in Birmingham and is discovered by a model agent. Sounds great, right? Well apart from a few problems:

  1. Harriet hates fashion
  2. She’s just about to steal her best friend’s dream
  3. There’s no way that Nat will forgive her

So when Harriet gets this opportunity to become a model, she ignores her problems and along the way, learns that becoming a fashion model doesn’t make you who you truly are.

I was very impressed with the storyline, the main character – Harriet Manners and the beautiful meaning at the end (which I won’t give too much away). Holly Smale certainly has made her story settings very original; who would thought about writing a teenage character, working in the fashion industry? Pure genesis.

Honestly as a twenty-one year old, I can relate to Harriet; I have been called a geek, have a step-parent, few friends and I have tried to make be someone else just because I was different. I think Holly has written a strong, powerful and inspirational main character – one of the best so far.

And there’s no down side to this book. Seriously; it has been interesting from start to finish.

Overall, I think Geek Girl: From Geek to Chic has been an excellent read and is suitable for anyone, mostly young teenagers and those who are young at heart (like myself). I rate Geek Girl a 10 out of 10 because of its funniness, inspiration and simply for just… well, being a roller coaster novel that is full of exciting high points. If you want to read a fashionable, young and heart-warming novel, read Greek Girl and examine for yourself.

Also, I’ve noticed that there a series of books that Holly Smale and I want to know more about them. Have you read the rest of the Geek Girl series? If so, what do you think of them? Which one is your favourite and why? Please let me know in the comments selection below and I’ll go check them out. 🙂

Author: Sez

My name is Sez. I am on the Autistic Spectrum; I was diagnosed when I was two years old. Being Autistic can be tricky; I easily jump into conclusions and miss important skills that are part of my social life. However, my "condition" hasn't stopped me from doing the things I love. I am currently studying Performing Arts at a Drama school in London. I'm a hard worker and a dreamer. Also, I love creative writing and writing lyrics. I'm a keen adventurer and would love to travel the world. I want to take this opportunity to thank you for reading my blog. I hope you enjoy actingmylife. :)

4 thoughts on “How Can One Girl Transform from Geek to Model? Well, “Geek Girl” Has the Answer!”

    1. It really is (apart from the Latin which I cannot pronounce too well, which is annoying). I loved it and hoping to read the squeals in the Autumn. Thank you very much. 😊

      Like

Leave a comment