Having a Wizard Time – My Review on A Royal Night Out

Say, chaps. Did you hear about two princesses who have gone incognito in the streets of London? Well, it hasn’t happened today but it did in real life – about seventy years ago to be exact. All is relieved in the latest British Comedy film, A Royal Night Out which had its full realise a week ago.

I first heard of A Royal Night Out when I saw a film poster at a nearby bus stop and when I returned home, I saw the trailer. For weeks and weeks, I’ve been really into it. I had high hopes for it, especially from actress, Bel Powley who plays Princess Margaret. I couldn’t wait, despite the mixed reviews from others. So today, I had the opportunity to see it with my lovely cousin and it didn’t fail to disappoint. Since Cinderella, I felt that I was engaged from start to finish and I’m glad that I saw it (especially it had special granted permission from the Royal Palace. 🙂 )

rno

From right: Sarah Gadon as Her Majesty, Jack Reynor as Jack and Bel Powley as Princess Margaret.

The scenes were pretty interesting. I loved the storyline of Jack (played Jack Reynor); at first, I thought he was a jerk but as the film went on, I began to have a soft spot for him. I adored the scenes that Jack and the Queen (Princess Elizabeth, who is played by Sarah Gadon). They were inspirational, warming and wonderful. Also, I love Powley’s scenes as Princess Margaret; they were quite entertaining, exciting and sometimes, very scary. I couldn’t stop watching all three of them.

The cast were astounding. I especially liked Bel Powley’s portrayal of Princess Margaret; I think Powley should have an award for the role. I couldn’t help myself but laugh away at her funniest lines. I think favourite line of hers is this:

Mickey: Does the tiara rather give the game away, Ma’am?

Margaret: Yes!

This truly is a top-notch line.

I also love Sarah Gadon; she has delivered an inspirational portrayal of the Queen, with charm and wonderful personality. And to top it all off, I liked Emily Watson, and Rupert Everett’s portrayals of King George VI and Queen Elizabeth, the Queen Mother. I really enjoyed watching them so much, especially Everett.

rno_2

From left: Bel Powley, Sarah Gadon and Rupert Everett as King George VI.

The costumes, made by Claire Anderson are spectacular; they truly amazing, especially the two dresses worn by Gadon and Powley. I also like Gadon’s military uniform as well as Reynor’s, especially since it’s in a different colour. And lastly in the costume department, I give credit to Powley’s V.E blue dress. It is a crowning glory in its own right.

Although the music doesn’t have any proper songs (like in Divergent), I thought all the instrumental pieces were prefect for the film. My particular favourite is In the Mood by Glenn Miller and I cannot stop dancing to it, even listening to it now. 😉

Overall, A Royal Night Out has been a jolly, happy-go-lucky and inspirational film. Sure most of it is fiction, but I absolutely love everything in it. So if you want a film that is joyful, funny and has full of character, I recommend seeing this one. Forget spending a night out, because this movie will be sure to give you a totally, cracking time out; just the perfect excuse to go the cinema. 🙂

Author: Sez

My name is Sez. I am on the Autistic Spectrum; I was diagnosed when I was two years old. Being Autistic can be tricky; I easily jump into conclusions and miss important skills that are part of my social life. However, my "condition" hasn't stopped me from doing the things I love. I am currently studying Performing Arts at a Drama school in London. I'm a hard worker and a dreamer. Also, I love creative writing and writing lyrics. I'm a keen adventurer and would love to travel the world. I want to take this opportunity to thank you for reading my blog. I hope you enjoy actingmylife. :)

Leave a comment